0121 702 1659 |

BBC Logo National Trust Logo Airbus Logo Mitie Logo Ford Logo
BBC Logo National Trust Logo Airbus Logo Mitie Logo Ford Logo DHL Logo RAF Logo JCB Logo Oxford University Logo Fortnum and Mason Logo Mclaren Logo Royal Albert Hall Logo

Rugby Six Nations Fun Facts & Statistics (2023)

The Six Nations Rugby Tournament is one of the world's most prestigious and competitive rugby competitions, featuring the top national teams from England, France, Ireland, Italy, Scotland, and Wales. The tournament has been held annually since 1883 and has a rich history filled with thrilling matches, unforgettable moments, and some of the greatest players to have ever played the game. So as we look forward to the 2023 edition, let's take a look at some fun facts and key statistics about the tournament.

1) Six Nations is the oldest Rugby tournament.

The Six Nations Rugby Tournament is the oldest international rugby tournament in the world. First held in 1883, it was initially called the Home Nations Championship, with England, Ireland, Scotland, and Wales competing for the title. France joined the tournament in 1910, and in 2000, Italy joined, creating the Six Nations tournament we enjoy today.

2) England is the most successful Six Nations nation.

The most successful team in the tournament's history is England, with 39 championships. Wales also has won 39 titles, although only 28 of those are outright wins compared to 29 by England. France has 17 outright wins, Scotland has 15, Ireland has won 14 times, and Italy is the only nation with no Six Nations wins.

3) England also has the most Grand Slams.

The Grand Slam, awarded to the team that wins all their matches in a single tournament, is one of the most coveted achievements in international rugby. The team that has won the most Grand Slams is England, with 13 Grand Slams. Wales follows closely behind with 12 Grand Slams and France with 9 Grand Slams.

4) Ireland has won the most Triple Crowns.

The Triple Crown, awarded to the team that defeats all the other home nations, is also a highly prized achievement in international rugby. It was often referred to as the invisible cup because no trophy was given for this achievement until 2006, when the tournament sponsors RBS (Royal Bank of Scotland) commissioned one to be made and handed to any future winners. In tournament history, Ireland has achieved this the most with six Triple Crowns so far (the last one won in 2022), followed by Wales with four and England with three triumphs.

5) Six Nation Teams compete for Rivalry Trophies.

In addition to the main tournament trophy and the Triple Crown, the Six Nations teams compete for various rivalry trophies. These include the Millenium trophy (England Vs Ireland), Centenary Quaich (Ireland Vs Scotland), and Doddie Weir Cup (Wales Vs Scotland). The Calcutta Cup, contested between England and Scotland since 1879, was damaged in 1988 by drunken players on both teams who played football with the trophy. The Wooden Spoon is awarded to the team who finishes last in each tournament.

6) France are the current Six Nations champions.

The team to beat this year are France, who lifted the trophy in 2022 for the first time since 2010, with a Grand Slam to boot! Ireland were the runner up, winning the Triple Crown for the sixth time in their history.

7) Points are awarded for more than just winning.

There are several ways to win point in a Six Nations game. Four points are awarded for a win and two for a draw. Bonus points are awarded for scoring four or more tries in a single game or losing by fewer than seven points. In the event of a Grand Slam, an additional three points are given to ensure the team finishes top of the table; otherwise they could theoretically be beaten if another team amasses enough bonus points.

Key Six Nations Statistics:

  • The most points scored by a team in one match is 80, by England against Italy in 2001.
  • The most tries scored in a tournament is 29, also by England in the same year.
  • The most points scored in a single tournament was 229 points by England in 2001.
  • The most points scored by a single player in a single match is 35 by England’s Jonny Wilkinson (Vs Italy in 2001), who scored 89 points in that tournament.
  • The most tries scored by a single player in a match is 5, by Scotland’s George Lindsay in 1887.
  • England has the most overall wins in tournament history, with 269, closely followed by Wales with 261 and Ireland with 218.
  • The 2023 tournament will be the 129th edition of the competition.

2023 Tournament:

The 2023 tournament is set to be a highly competitive and exciting edition, with all teams looking to make their mark on the competition. The tournament will kick off on the 4th of February with the first match between Wales and Ireland at the Millenium Stadium in Cardiff. The tournament will conclude on the 18th of March with the final game between Ireland and England at the Aviva Stadium in Dublin.

All teams will be looking to win the title and secure the Grand Slam, but it is always difficult to predict who will come out on top in such a competitive tournament. Nevertheless, with some of the best players in the world set to take the field, the 2023 Six Nations Rugby Tournament promises to be a thrilling and unforgettable event for rugby fans worldwide.



Richard O'Connor's Headshot

Richard O'Connor is a Director at First Mats. He has deep knowledge in areas like Manufacturing, Warehousing, Marine, and Health & Safety. Richard's insights have been featured in well-known publications such as Bloomberg Business, The Sun, and Reader's Digest. His blend of industry expertise and passion for sharing makes him a sought-after voice in his fields.

Contact Richard